Rachel Oguego avatar
Written by Rachel Oguego
Updated over a week ago

SEPA stands for "Single Euro Payments Area," which is a payment integration initiative of the European Union (EU) aimed at harmonising and simplifying euro-denominated bank transfers across participating countries.

SEPA enables individuals and businesses to make payments within the SEPA zone under the same basic conditions, rights, and obligations, regardless of their location.

SEPA payments can be categorised into two main types:

SEPA Credit Transfer (SCT): This allows for euro-denominated payments to be made electronically from one bank account to another within the SEPA zone. SCT payments are typically processed within one- three business day.

SEPA Instant Credit Transfer (SCT Inst): This is an enhanced version of SEPA Credit Transfer that enables instant euro-denominated payments, providing real-time or near-real-time transfer of funds around the clock, 365 days a year. SCT Inst payments are credited to the recipient's account within seconds.


Receiving payments is dependent on the sending bank/platform and payment scheme used.

The standard timeline for receiving EUR transfers is 1-3 working days.

We only support receiving these payments from countries within the EEA.

Did this answer your question?